What am I thankful for?

thankful

That’s a pretty good question. There are so many different things that I am grateful to have in my life, things I have talked about on this blog at length. My family, my job, my friends, are all amazing parts of my life that make it happier. But these are big things that are really great – but kind of operate in the long term. This year I’ve focused a lot on the long term so for right now I want to focus more on the short term – because sometimes things only last a moment and one should be thankful every chance we get. So in that vain, here are a few things that make me happy for just moments during my day.

My bodega on the corner of my street. The guys there are super nice and give me discounts on Diet Coke.

The cooking skills my parents instilled in me. I can pretty much make anything with a recipe and can improvise if things go awry.

Netflix. I know a lot of people say this, but Netflix is actually allowing some really great entertainers reach a wider audience because they don’t have to compete for time on regular networks (this is how I got super into Miss Fishers!)

In that same vain, I am really grateful for Spotify’s Discover Weekly playlist. They handpick 3o different songs for you each week and it’s how I’ve discovered some of my favorite new music.

Wine. Gin. Craft beers. Alcohol in general is pretty great.

Over-the-ear headphones. They function as music carriers and earmuffs in the cold months!

Vacuums. I was cleaning my room this week, and what did people do before vacuums?? Use brooms I assume but that’s so much time lost. No wonder housewives collectively said “no” when the 60s and free love came around.

The new TV show Supergirl. I did not know that Supergirl’s alter ego was named Cara Danvers. This is AWESOME.

In that same vain, I am grateful for ancestry trackers. Being the history nerd that I am, I want to hear where my family has been and what experiences they might have gone through.Where did all the other Danvers go??

Sweatshirts and sweatpants. Anything that’s soft and fluffy and wearable is what we should be putting on our bodies all the time. Screw fashion, people 30 years from now will think you look ridiculous anyways.

Public transportation. We should make this available and accessible for everyone…but right now, it’s still pretty amazing to be able to travel miles without having to own a car.

Tumblr. This social media site holds some of the smartest jokes and satirists the internet has ever seen. Yes, sometimes it hosts terrible hate-ridden people – but so do most corners of the internet. Overall, it’s my favorite thing.

And finally, I am really thankful that I have a place to go for thanksgiving even though our parents are down under. And not only that, the amount of people whom my sister and I love who offered us their place for the holidays means so much to us.

Leave a Reply

