Happy Anniversary!

The renovated clock tower at the Hoboken Terminal that was completed with the addition of a steeple yesterday, Wednesday, April 2, 2008. Photo taken Thursday, April 3, 2008. -- REENA ROSE SIBAYAN / THE JERSEY JOURNAL

Hipster, frat boy, yoga, smurfs. It’s the Hoboken way! 

So while everyone forgot to tell Sara she didn’t do a blog post last week (yes we’re still angry) they also forgot to acknowledge that I have officially been living in Hoboken for one full year. CRAZY!! Let’s revisit this past year in gross detail shall we?

I moved on September 18th, 2014. The air was crisp because it was freaking early. Actually I’m lying it was like 9:30am…ANYWAYS fast forward 5(ish) hours and I arrive in Hoboken, greeted my new roommates, and began to put my room together. Soon enough, my parents left and I was on my own. I think at the time I wanted it to feel really exhilarating and inspiring. And it did eventually. But in that moment I felt like a kid at summer camp, but summer is like the summer of Westeros and not nearly as filled with such hot men.

I just had to catch myself writing “Back then I was a child of god and today…not so much. I know it really wasn’t that long ago, but it honestly feels lightyears away. Back then I was wide-eyed, I was curious, I was desperate but also determined. I wanted something…but I wasn’t sure what that was and decided a job would suffice. And I’m not actually going to make you guys relive this past year in gross detail. Even I don’t want to do that. But I am fascinated by the improvement I’ve made this year.

This became particularly apparent to me last night; I was cleaning off my desktop of old cover letters and writing samples by moving them into an untitled folder that’s already filled with even older documents. For nostalgias sake I scrolled through its entire contents (because honestly I had forgotten about some of the positions I had applied for) and happened upon the cover letter I submitted for the job I currently have.

To explain: I actually applied for the position I currently have, three months ago. The company ultimately decided to hire from within but kept my application on file, so when another position became available I was still in their system, ready and waiting to be chosen. However, because I didn’t hear anything back from their office I assumed I wasn’t in their pool of applicants and didn’t give it another thought. Fast-forward to yesterday, I stumbled on the application that got me my job and my new found security but then discovered that my application was TERRIBLE. I am absolutely MORTIFIED by that cover letter and resume.

Reader, I almost cried. I was stunned that I had previously allowed such choppy language and typos go to potential employers. It perplexed me to the point that I went and opened even older cover letters. And if there’s anything I learned from that rabbit hole, it’s that it is amazing how much one can improve not just in a year, but in three months. This past year has been one of my hardest, but it’s also been one of the most fun. I feel like I earned that.

I’m starting to realize that the only person I really needed to prove myself to, was ironically myself. I guess I needed to know that I could hack it alone if I ever needed to. Which is silly because I didn’t hack it alone. I had more help and support than a girl like me deserves. So many of you made me possible. So I guess this is me trying to thank you.

My friend Annie said to me during lunch today that we survived our first year. We did.

Leave a Reply

